Practice Worth


A mudra for reaffirming your worthiness

My intention for this month is to own my experiences on the mat and in all parts of my life.  This practice reminds you of your inherent worth.  I love to take Bhumisparsha mudra when I’m feeling invincible, a fleeting thing for sure.  It’s also nice when I am needing a little encouragement.  Try it out, it takes less than a minute:  

I love this mudra, I can’t pronounce it, but I love it.

I love the simplicity of it and the significance of it. It just feels right, like something that you might want to do with your hands anyway. To perform Bhumisparsha mudra find a comfortable seated position on the floor. Drape the left hand over the lap palm facing up like an open flower. Drape the right hand over the right knee and let the finger tips dangle to the floor. Take a few breaths here with closed eyes.  You can stay for as long as you like.  The bonus with this mudra is that it comes with a story, and I do love a good story. Mara, god of sensual desire attempted to talk Buddha into believing that he was not even entitled to the tiny bit of earth where he sat in meditation. Buddha ended the argument by touching the ground with the fingers of his right hand and swore that he was indeed entitled to remain on Earth because of his many good deeds. The take away message here is that Buddha bore witness on his own behalf. Not only that, but Buddha understood that his place on the Earth where he strived for enlightenment was secured by the good the had done, the obligations he had fulfilled. I don’t know about you, but I struggle to know my place and importance on Earth weekly, if not more. It can be a pretty painful thing if you’re not careful and most of us aren’t even being confronted by the god of sensual desire, though he does sound like a lot of fun…  This mudra is an affirmation of your unique place within creation; your inherent goodness as a member of the world and in the world.  Give it a try and let me know what you think. Namaste

Leave a Reply

